Child development

St Paul’s Pre-school follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, which covers the pre-school and reception year of education.

There are three prime and four specific areas of learning and three learning characteristics set out below:

The prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The learning characteristics:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

We are OFSTED registered and are a member of the Pre-school Learning Alliance. St Paul’s Pre-school is also a registered charity, Charity No. 1020155.




Leave a Reply